Catch The Stream: Dance Theatre of Harlem hosts Firebird Day, celebrating the iconic Firebird ballet




Photo Credit: Stephanie Dabney in Firebird - Photo by Martha Swope


Catch this stream today and everyday until Mar. 19!


To honor Women's History Month, Dance Theatre of Harlem is hosting Firebird Day. The company calls it a celebration of DTH's iconic Firebird ballet.


The ballet will be available for viewers beginning today at 3:00 p.m. CST on YouTube, and you can catch the stream again until Friday, Mar. 19 at 10:59 p.m. CST/ 11:59p.m. ET through DTH On Demand.


Here's a schedule of events for Firebird Day:


The Rare Birds at 3:00 p.m. CST/ 4:00 p.m. ET


Learn more about the history of Black excellence in Firebird, featuring ballet stars Misty Copeland, the first African-American Principal ballerina with American Ballet Theatre, and Lauren Anderson, the now retired first African-American Principal dancer with the Houston Ballet, and Dance Theatre of Harlem’s own Charmaine Hunter.


Passing the Torch at 5:00 p.m. CST/ 6:00 p.m. ET


Past Dance Theatre of Harlem “Firebirds” reflect on dancing the iconic role in what became a signature work for the company. Former Principal dancers Christina Johnson, Kellye Saunders, Bethania Gomes, Paunika Jones and Tai Jimenez coach current company members and reflect on dancing the title character.


DTH On Demand Presents: Firebird at 7:00 p.m. CST/ 8:00 p.m. ET


Watch the 1982 PBS documentary, “Stravinsky’s Firebird by Dance Theatre of Harlem,” as it takes viewers behind the scenes of the DTH Company’s preparations to perform Firebird at the Kennedy Center, featuring interviews with Arthur Mitchell, John Taras, Geoffrey Holder, Stephanie Dabney, Donald Williams, and Lorraine Graves, followed by the online premiere of John Taras’ Firebird.



Do you want viewers to catch your stream? E-mail information to details@powerpointe.net or use the hashtag #CatchTheStream on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram, and we'll feature your performance that's scheduled to be streamed!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square